Executive Director

Executive Director Diana M. Bailey (front, second from left in purple) joined colleagues who include MWHC Board, Maryland Commission on Women, along with Dr. Marylou Yam (front center,) President of Notre Dame of Maryland University, for the rededication of the Maryland Women’s Hall of fame display, now located in Knott Science Center at the University. 

MWHC has long worked with the Maryland Commission on Women to select women for this honor and donated the display to the University.

Diana M. Bailey

Diana M. Bailey has brought decades of experience and passion for gender equity and women’s history to the Maryland Women’s Heritage Center.  

Throughout her career, she has served as an educator, administrator, community leader, liaison, mentor and always a visible advocate for women and girls.

Ms. Bailey retired from the Maryland State of Education, Division of Career and College Readiness in 2012. 

Always active in organizations that matter, she has been a member of the Maryland Commission for Women, Business and Professional Women, American Association of University Women, Chair of the Howard County Commission for Women, Advisory Board of the Howard County Women’s Giving Circle, Vice Chair of the National Gender Equity Leadership in Education (NCSEE/AGELE), and chairperson for several years of the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame event for the Maryland Commission for Women. Ms. Bailey was appointed by the Governor to serve on the Maryland Commission for the Celebration of the 19th Amendment. 

She represents Maryland to several national women’s organizations, including the National Collaborative of Women’s History Sites and the National Votes for Women Trail and National Alliance for Women’s History.