Talbot County Suffrage Markers

MWHC board in Howard County

No longer forgotten:
Talbot County suffragists Mary Jenkins and Mary Bartlett Dixon 

The Talbot Historical Society, the Maryland Women’s Heritage Center, and the William G. Pomeroy Foundation unveiled a historical marker honoring Mary Jenkins and Mary Bartlett Dixon, Talbot County’s two most prominent suffragists. The event was on Saturday, May 14, 2022 in the Gardens at the Talbot Historical Society at 25 South Washington St. in Easton.

Mary Jenkins and Mary Bartlett Dixon led Talbot County’s historic Just Franchise League from 1909 to 1919. Jenkins was Maryland’s representative at state suffrage conventions and was seen as a faithful Talbot County leader for the cause. Dixon was a noted grassroots activist for the Suffrage Movement and organized “porch and parlor” meetings, pamphleteering, marches, and petition drives throughout the state.

Download Marker Dedication Program

  • Robert Willey, Mayor of Easton
  • Addie Eckardt, Maryland State Senator
  • Maria Darby, President of Maryland Women’s Heritage Center
  • Diana Bailey, Executive Director of Maryland Women’s Heritage Center
  • Steve Bodnar, William G. Pomeroy Foundation

The commemorative marker was donated by the William G. Pomeroy Foundation and is one of 200 that are being dedicated to prominent suffragists in various locations around the country.

Photos from Event

Click on slideshow to view larger.