MWHC at the Woman’s Industrial Exchange
After operating virtually for several years, MWHC moved into the historic Marian House/Woman’s Industrial Exchange (WIE) building in December 2020. Founded in 1880, WIE helped craftswomen discreetly earn a living and operated at 333 N. Charles Street in various forms until June, 2020. Both the building’s owner, Marian House, and MWHC serve women and now carry the WIE’s spirit into the future.
With the support of grants, donations and volunteers, MWHC has adapted the storefront of this landmark building into an exhibit center and small event space. Changing exhibits in the bay window facing North Charles Street feature various women artists and their creations. We celebrate Maryland women —past and present, famous and not—and add “HERstory to history to tell our story.”
Our venue honors the unique stories of Maryland’s women and their contributions to the past, present and future. It is the first comprehensive state center of its kind in the nation. We recognize that part of our charge is to help preserve this building’s heritage.
We welcome all to visit us and learn about:
- The incredible strength and innovations of Maryland Women starting from 1600s St. Mary’s County landowner Margaret Brent who asked the Maryland legislature for the right to vote to the present time
- Exhibits that include Maryland Valiant Women: The Fight for Suffrage, Maryland Unsung Heroines, Maryland Women in STEM and Images and Expressions: Maryland Women in the Arts
- Maryland suffragists whose passion and bravery has only recently come to light
- Other permanent and changing exhibits about the achievements and contributions of Maryland women
- Our intimate meeting and small event space where visitors are surrounded by stories of amazing Maryland women
Johns Hopkins, Executive Director of Baltimore Heritage, presents a history of the Woman’s Industrial Exchange as part of the popular “Five-Minute History” presentations.